Some Summer

I was reading a feature in GQ on the necessities for the beach. Bags, sunglasses, trunks and even rolling paper. As I prepare to venture off for some time at the beach, I decided to post my own list of things that I’ll be bringing along, and maybe you’ll want to investigate yourself.

L.L.Bean canvas tote-bag with zipper.

 

 

 

 

 

I love the durability of this bag. It’s built in L.L.Bean’s HQs in Maine. When it arrived, it felt as tough as nails. I ordered the large zip-top bag (everyone deserves a bit of privacy…) with trim in black with the long handles. I was hesitant to get it embroidered at L.L.Bean because they mainly do lettering, and I wanted something a little different. I brought it over to a local embroiderer and got a skull and cross-bones monogrammed onto the bag. The size is great not just for the beach, but as a gym bag, daily bag, carry-on, or even a grocery tote (use as last resort…). Be hard with this tote, it can take it. It will soften with use.

Tretorn Sneakers

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Super light-weight, and easily pliable. These sneakers are a summer essential. From the beach to the city, these sneakers, from Swedish company Tretorn, are the new Chuck Taylors. Whether you go for the high-top or low-top, snag a pair of these and wear them with everything (go sock-less, while you’re at it). Keep an eye on this brand, they seem to be popping up everywhere.

Dancer from the Dance by Andrew Holleran

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This novel portrays the life of gay men in Manhattan circa 1970. Tragic, hilarious and heartfelt. A good friend suggested this book to me. Once I began reading it,  I immediately got immersed with the characters. With the superbly detailed landscape of Manhattan, you can’t help but admire what you’re reading. Nab it for a great beach read.

Victorinox Swim Trunks

 

 

 

 

 

 

I ran into these trunks while shopping one day. They’re super soft, comfortable, quick drying, and fit perfectly. The length is great…not too long, or too short. Wear them all day to the beach, then toss on a tank or t-shirt and you’re good for the night. Can’t beat them.

Lands’ End Striped Towel

 

 

 

 

 

 

You’re going to need a one for your many trips to cool off in the pool or ocean. Lands’ End towels are quite unbeatable for the price. Over-sized and cozy to curl up into. Great color choices and styles, but I’d stick with the basic stripe. Grab a few, especially if they’re on sale. You’ll use them year after year. Have them monogrammed if you’re man enough.

Leave a Reply

